Free shipping
Low Price
secure-order
View Cart
Order Online Or Call
1.800.618.0601

Product reviews for:
     
$69.95
3.5 Stars based on 24 Review(s)
Stephanie Hughes
Wyoming
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Definitely Works
May 12, 2014
Havenít used it much yet because the weather warmed up as soon as we got it, but it does make logs and it makes them well. We look forward to using it again.

Cheryl Cooper
Kansas
2 Stars
Whatís So Special About It?
April 27, 2014
To me, Iím better off just rolling up my newspapers manually. It takes a lot less time than rolling them up with this product.

Philip Adams
Montana
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Canít Get It to Roll Tightly
December 19, 2013
Overall the product does what itís designed to do, and itís easy to use. Yet no matter what I do, I canít get it to roll the log as tightly as I think it should. Iíve tried wetting the paper and folding it. These things help, but Iím still not totally satisfied. Make sure you soak the paper and let it dry completely before you roll it, or youíll get a TON of smoke in your fire!

Nancy White
Indiana
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Still Getting Used To
November 26, 2013
I just started using this. The instructions were somewhat confusing, but I managed. The first time I tried to start a piece of newspaper I had some trouble, but Iíll get used to it.

Michael Roberts
Missouri
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
So Easy a Senior Citizen Can Use It!
November 3, 2013
This roller is easy to put together and use, and the delivery and service of the company was great. I'm disabled and advanced in years, but I have had no problem using this thing. It takes a little patience and experimentation, but you can quickly learn the optimal way to use the roller. I recommend folding the paper over about an inch and then sliding that segment into the roller. When Iíve got most of that sheet rolled in, I do the same to the next sheet and insert that one. Once the log is finished, itís not hard to get off the roller. You simply need to wriggle it back and forth if itís on there tighter. I recommend wearing gloves to keep your hands clean, and I also find soaking the paper in water to be unnecessary. You can use dry paper. If you go that route, you should use string, tape or something similar to hold the log together until youíre ready to burn it. If I can use this contraption, so can you!

Wanda Harris
Texas
2 Stars
Giving Me Fits
September 29, 2013
Based on the reviews I read, I figured I could figure this thing out without a problem. Assembly was a piece of cake and the instructions were adequate. (By the way, don't just force the spindle into the handle. Make sure you use the screw in handle to attach the spindle.) But when it came to using this thing, what a disaster! The spindle twisted and collapsed on me! The device is completely unusable now, and Iím going to have to find a way to replace the spindle. Iíll give it another try since the rest of the device is sturdy. But I canít believe the main feature just malfunctioned like that on my first try!

Nicholas Hernandez
Arizona
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
How to Use
December 23, 2012
I love the way this recycles paper into something that keeps people warm. I recommend creasing an edge of the paper a couple of inches when inserting it into the roller slot. Then wind that sheet until youíve got about 6 inches of paper left and insert a thin stack of papers (maybe 3-6 sheets thick) into the fold of the original paper. Continue this pattern. (Actually, any kind of paper works in this roller, including regular printing and copy paper.) At points, during the process you should tug firmly on the end of your paper roll, and crank the roller while holding the edge so that the log gets even tighter. When youíve completed your log, take the spindle out of the device, and turn it back about a half turn to loosen the paper thatís in the slot. This will ease the removal of the log from the spindle.

Lillian Collins
California
3 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Takes Some Getting Used To
August 22, 2012
Itís not hard to use, but doing it right takes some practice (thought itís not the rollerís fault). The logs Iíve made so far turned out alright, but Iíd like to get better at making them tighter. The logs Iíve made work well in an outdoor fire, but I want to get better at this before I start trying to use them in my home fireplace.

David Young
South Dakota
2 Stars
Spindle Is Lacking
June 25, 2012
The spindle that you use to roll the paper isnít very sturdy. It gets contorted and bent easily, so that makes this roller hard to use.

Russell Parker
Arkansas
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Passing Grade
March 2, 2012
Didnít take much to put it togetherówas able to do it in one evening. However, the directions arenít very clear. The metal plate fits under the rodsónot in between them. Donít force it! Itís not necessary. It took us five-ish minutes to make a log, and it took two people. Works well. I also recommend that you soak the log with water after you finish making it and let it dry. This will meld the paper together completely and help it burn better.

Jesse Rivera
Oklahoma
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Easy and Enjoyable
January 16, 2011
The price is reasonable. This is the first one Iíve ever bought, but I found it easy to assemble and easy to use. It works really well, and itís even kind of fun transforming my old newspapers into ďwood.Ē

Susan Perry
Nebraska
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Phone a Friend!
January 16, 2011
The directions are a bit lacking, but adequate. I can see where some people would get confused, but on the whole it assembles easily enough. The roller works great, but you really need a friend to help you. Itís best if they feed while you roll. I find that these logs burn best when the fire is hot, so I suggest starting the fire with real wood and letting it burn hot; then add these.

Jacqueline Taylor
Colorado
4 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
No Problems for Me
December 31, 2010
The device is easy to put together with the instructions given. I recommend using a spray bottle to wet the paper when you make the logs.

Kevin Reed
North Dakota
1 Stars
Disappointed
September 24, 2010
I had a dickens of a time putting the thing together. For instance, I had to bend the rounded bottom piece really hard in order to fit it into the grooves. Getting the newspaper wet to catch the sheet wasn't working well, so I folded the pieces together instead. That worked okay, but the paper logs donít burn completely. (Youíd think paper would burn just fine!) I quickly decided this thing wasnít worth my time and unloaded it at a consignment store.

Howard Davis
Nevada
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Slight Assembly Modification Necessary
July 20, 2010
Hereís what I did. I used a drill to make some pilot holes in the handles ends so it would be easier to start the screws. Then I slackly attached the rods to the handle on both ends and inserted the tray (while keeping everything on a level surface). Finally, I tightened the handles and rods. Piece of cake.

Janice Jackson
Idaho
2 Stars
Donít Be Fooled
June 8, 2010
This thing looks great online, but itís hard to put together, and the instructions are unhelpful. You definitely need someone else to help you. You have to force the bottom plate into place, and the other person can then tighten the screws. Then, the handle doesnít have any kind of a stop to keep it from poking out on the other side. Rather disappointed.

Henry Lee
New Mexico
3 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Recycles Paper!
May 7, 2010
The instructions were missing, but we still managed to get it together after some misfires. I like the way it works, and I love recycling my paper into fire fuel!

Billy Hall
Oregon
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Suggestion for Use
December 23, 2009
Iíve had one of these for a long time, but Iíve never really used it and I donít have any instructions. One person told me to put paraffin oil in the bottom pan, and then as I rolled the paper together, it would moisten the logs. I think youíre also supposed to dry out the logs before you burn them. Iím looking forward to using mine to make some logs for the winter!

Barbara King
Illinois
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Perfect!
July 2, 2009
This makes my life simpler! Iím really glad that such a product exists and it works very well!

Carolyn Simmons
Iowa
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Instructions Are Fine but Could Be Slightly Better
July 2, 2009
This product really is quick and easy to put together. Other reviewers had me worried, but I didnít have any trouble. The instructions are a reliable guide, but let me add a couple of minor things that should probably be there and that will make your assembly easier. First, when youíre inserting the bars in the frames, keep the nuts loosely attached. After youíve inserted the plate, then tighten them (as the instructions indicate). Second, make sure you take the wooden plug out of the pipe before you insert it into the handle. Iím happy to have this thing since making paper logs by hand was irritating and time-consuming.

Gregory Martinez
Utah
1 Stars
Too Time-Consuming
May 6, 2009
My experience with this product hasnít been great. I donít find it easy to work, and it takes forever to prepare the paper properly for processing. Itís also a very messy process. After struggling with the thing, I gave up and just rolled the paper on the floor by hand. Nice looking device, but not very functional.

Harold James
Wisconsin
2 Stars
Misbehaving Arm
March 12, 2009
Iíve had trouble getting the arm for the paper to stay put when Iím rolling up the newspaper.

Heather Morgan
Minnesota
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Follow the Directions
February 18, 2009
Follow the directions and this product will fit together perfectly! A lot of the other reviewers complain that this thing is hard to put together or requires Herculean strength, but theyíre not following the directions well or at all. For instance, some said that the panel needs to go in the grooves. But it doesnít! The grooves are ornamental and the instructions will tell you just where the panel fits. My friend and I were able to put this thing together in under 5 minutes (have a friend handy to help you hold the pieces in place). When it comes to using the assembled product, I recommend using one person to feed the newspaper and the other to turn the crank. The logs form quickly and easily. It can be tricky getting the newly formed log off the assembly, but to counter that I suggest leaving the first few rolls loose as you start rolling the log, then roll it tighter toward the end of the process. And yes, the spindle detaches by design (despite what reviewers say) so that you take your log off the assembly when itís finished. One other thing, these logs are not ďstarter logsĒ (as some people complain). Theyíre wood substitutes and they burn just as well, hotly, and slowly as a regular log. Theyíre also cheaper than wood and easier to light. We like them because itís harder to get and store wood in the city. We absolutely love this product and you will too!

John Wright
Louisiana
5 Stars

I would recommend this item to a friend.
Piece of Cake
February 10, 2009
I assembled this quickly and easily and was using it to roll logs almost as soon as I got it. No problems with the spindle bending (as others have complained). The directions are easy to use. You can do it!


Page 1 of 1