4.4
58 Reviews
5
64% (37)
4
19% (11)
3
14% (8)
2
2% (1)
1
2% (1)
86% Recommend this product (50 of 58 responses)
By Odessa
Tecumseh, OK
July 14, 2014
NICE
First time to order, mantel was more than I expected, Love it. Thank you
By Dr. Kyle
United States
June 9, 2014
It has a distressed look? More like careless construction!
So, I read many mixed reviews and several said that it was scratched and dented and not made well. I assumed that meant that they didn't see that the description said "Distressed" and figured they missed that. Wrong! I am surprised at how much I paid for this for the shoddy craftsmanship in construction. I could have made something of better quality myself. The distressed edges, like a beveled edge in places, was hastily done and many tool marks were left. The distressed look seemed a bit to intentional and not random, several parallel rows of dents. Also there was a hot pink circle on the side, that when sanded off turned white, like they used a piece of patch wood for a hole in the wood that didn't match up (see pic). The edges are not that great; they changed the direction of the grain on the ends so this makes the corners look unnatural. Also, the corbels have horribly mismatched grain so they are totally unusable (not a big factor for me as I was not going to use them anyway). I purchased the unfinished one so I'm not sure how the finished ones come in appearance. I had to sand starting at 60 grit to get rid of all of those tool marks and make the "distressed" features look more natural. I put a nice stain on it and several coats of poly and now it does look great. Interestingly enough, that spot of filler wood that was white is now pearlescent, like mother of pearl (won't take a stain). Sticks out big time, but it is kind of cool. I haven't finished my project yet, but hanging it will be straightforward enough. I will try to post more pictures when I'm done.
ProsEasy to hang, fast shipping
ConsPoor construction quality, need to put in a lot of work to make it look natural
By PAULETTE MORRIS
Enid, OK 73703
May 23, 2014
Great Product
This mantel was exactly what we expected, due to the description. It was easy to install and looks great.
By DS
Missouri
May 17, 2014
Right for Our Fireplace.
Rustic. Just what I needed for my stone. Nice finish.
By Sienna Davenport
South Dakota
May 6, 2014
Wonderful to Stain
A great mantel to stain. Looks wonderful! Love it!
By Becky Jones
United States
May 3, 2014
Great Looking Mantel
I was very pleased with the speed of the shipment, the price, and the quality of this mantel.
By Sienna Mcduffie
Louisiana
May 3, 2014
Excellent Price And Quality
This mantel possesses excellent quality at a terrific price. We love this mantel, and we can say that it is just what we wanted.
By Maxwell Rossi
Wisconsin
April 3, 2014
Hollow Back for Storage Possibilities
If you want an easy and great looking mantel, this is the one to buy. Because it’s hollow, you can store things inside it. Very pleased with my purchase.
By Robert Mayberry
Nebraska
March 23, 2014
Looks Elegant
The reason for my purchasing this product lies in that I needed to get a good mantel for the fireplace in our family room. Even though it is a brick fireplace that is relatively plain, the addition of this mantel managed to radically transform our fireplace. Even though I have not had this installed for a long time, I am glad to say that it looks terrific!
By ABrice
Fresno, CA
March 9, 2014
Looks Great!
Only problem: no screws were included for corbels and inserted inserts were so cheap as to be useless. Fixed with nuts and bolts for a much better fix.
ProsGreat value, looks fantastic, rich color
ConsNo screws and cheap inserts for corbels
By Mary
Amarillo, TX
February 21, 2014
Impressed with the Shenandoah Mantel Shelf
The Shenandoah Mantle is nice and sturdy with beautiful distressing. It's exactly what we wanted for our newly renovated den. Don't hesitate ordering. It's packaged well and shipment was fast.
ProsBeautiful distressing
By Lorenzo Dawson
Illinois
January 16, 2014
Description Not Clear
Even though the description wasn’t clear in stating it was constructed of one solid piece of wood but several pieces of solid wood, it worked for my needs and looks good.
By Wayne
Tarboro,North Carolina
January 6, 2014
48" Pearl Mantel
Good service, just what I looking for.
By Amber Toth
Montana
December 3, 2013
Excellent Rustic Finish
I had one minor complaint with this product, and that was I needed to get a large strip of wood to securely fasten it to the wall. I had done a good bit of reading about this product, and I had concluded that this product would be the ideal addition to my fireplace. It has a rustic appearance that makes it look simply stunning.
By Bryan Peacock
Minnesota
October 27, 2013
From Ashes to Beauty
If you have an ugly fireplace, then this is the perfect solution for a transformation! It’s beautiful and it’s simple to install. The corbels add the finishing touch. Everyone loves it and I’m happy!
By Kaitlyn Silva
South Dakota
October 3, 2013
Very High Quality Product
I am thrilled to have received a product that possesses as much quality as this one does. We had no major issues during the installation process aside from a handful of minor adjustments.
By Alexandra Baugh
North Dakota
September 25, 2013
Perfect Rustic Look
My stone fireplace has finally found its mate! This perfect mantel has a gorgeous rustic look and is well constructed. Takes a stain beautifully.
By Jim
California
September 11, 2013
Great Looking Mantel
The shelf is constructed well and is visually pleasing. The corbels are decent but are not square, which is my only complaint.
By Jason Cain
Mississippi
August 28, 2013
Perfect Mantel
This mantel fits in perfectly with the design of my living room, and it could not be better.
By Josephine England
Iowa
July 17, 2013
Not a Good Purchase
Our decorator advised us to purchase this unfinished mantel, but the wood didn’t take the stain properly. Also, the wood filler around the knots wouldn’t stain. We tried routing the wood filler out and filling the holes with putty and that didn’t work. Now we are looking for another mantel to purchase.
By Sherri
Connecticut
June 26, 2013
Great Value
We recently purchased this mantle for our new home. It arrived within days and was in perfect condition. It was recently installed and it looks great - exactly the look we wanted! The wood finish is exactly what we expected and the distressing gives it an authenticity in our farmhouse style house. We couldn't be happier with our purchase!
ProsGreat value Distressed finish Ease of purchase
ConsNothing
By Tyler Taylor
Colorado
June 19, 2013
Pick This One!
If you want an easy to install and great looking mantel, this is the one!
By Fabian Whitaker
Mississippi
January 24, 2013
More Colors Needed
Please provide more color options.
By Giovanni Craven
Arkansas
January 21, 2013
Adds Rustic Flair
This mantel has added warmth to my family room. We decided to purchase a mantel with a rustic finish and this definitely fits the bill.
By Malia Hanson
Arkansas
December 16, 2012
Don't Buy Unfinished
I thought this unfinished mantel was a solid piece of wood, but it’s a box made from pine boards. To get a distressed look, it took a lot of elbow grease to stain it properly. My advise – spend the extra money to have it stained.
By Elijah Slaughter
Florida
November 2, 2012
A Winning Combination
Don’t look any further for the perfect rustic mantel for your fireplace. This one is a winner! And it’s more attractive in person than in the photo. Plus, you will be pleased with the easy assembly and installation. We can highly recommend it!
By Mariah Baird
Missouri
October 30, 2012
High Quality Construction
As a general contractor, let me say that I am pleasantly surprised with the quality of this mantel.
By Samuel Myles
Texas
August 19, 2012
Unfinished and Inexpensive
Though I was in search of an inexpensive unfinished mantel, this one came with a number of tiny scratches on the front and bottom which will require some sanding to eradicate. It was packaged well so it doesn’t appear to be damaged during shipping. And although it’s not built of a solid piece of pine, it is very well constructed.
By Simon McClelland
Kansas
June 17, 2012
Fabricated - Not Solid Wood
Despite its beauty, I almost threw this mantel through the roof when it was delivered. The photo was gorgeous but I was fooled. It is not a solid mantel, but only fabricated. But it does look great over my wood stove in my 100 year old house.
By Melody
Clermont, Florida
May 10, 2012
Pearl Shenandoah Mantel Shelf
This mantle was the exact rustic look I was going for above my pebble rock fire place. We decided not to use the corbels and are going to use them as mini shelves someplace else in the room. Love it!
ProsIt looks great. Easy to assemble. Quick delivery! Everything.
Consnothing
By James
nj
March 22, 2012
Rustic mantel
I am happy with the item we purchased. It was delivered fast and in good condition. It was just as we expected.
By Alana Davila
Idaho
February 6, 2012
Exceptionally Easy to Install
This item was very easy to install, and it looks terrific in our home.
By RICK
TN
January 5, 2012
PEARL MANTEL
Love the mantel! Looks great on a stone fireplace... Good Quality!
By Brayden Noyes
Nebraska
January 4, 2012
Disappointing Purchase for Staining
This pine mantel was not a good choice for staining because of all the wood filler and glue used in its construction. A very disappointing purchase because we ended up painting it instead.
By Bruce
Royse City, Texas
January 1, 2012
Excellent mantel
This mantle was perfect for our new Stone fireplace. Installation was easy, staining it the day before was the trick. Make sure when you have a fireplace built to have a couple of wood insets for the mantle header board to attach.
ProsExactly as shown, and easy to install.
Consnothing, it was perfect for our needs
By Annie Hopkins
Michigan
December 24, 2011
Great Choice - Very Pleased
We are very pleased with purchasing this mantel to match our decor. Positioning the mantel over our fireplace was easily done with the mounting bar, plus the corbels were installed just as easily and were securely bolted to the mantel. As a new purchase, the quality and handsome appearance are superb.
By Kathy
Loveland, Ohio
October 18, 2011
Couldn't be happier
It is always a little scary buying a piece like this from a website, but we couldn't be happier with the mantel. The mantel is just beautiful and was just what we were looking to purchase. It arrived in a timely manner and arrived in perfect condition. The color was true to the description and installed very easily.
By Jaden Browne
Montana
September 16, 2011
Good Choice
This mantel looks great in any home I install them in. I also fill in the hollow section on top with insulation. It would be a good idea to offer the corbels as a separate item as they aren’t used very often.
By Denise
Chicago Illinois
July 26, 2011
Perfect for us!
We had been looking everywhere for a fireplace mantel and came across this one on-line. We were very happy with the size and it was delivered very quickly. I would recommend this product!
By Delilah McCoy
Indiana
June 27, 2011
Good Choice for Me
This was a hesitant online purchase, but I was pleased with the quality even though it’s not a solid piece of construction. The finish and quality matched the rest of my home. The price was pretty good. I made a good choice in choosing this over purchasing a more expensive solid wood mantel locally, as a solid wood mantel would have been too heavy for this purpose.
By Cole Casper
Louisiana
June 21, 2011
Beautiful But Won't Work for Us
This was a disappointing purchase! The photo and descriptions were not detailed enough and so I purchased a mantel with an open back. Even though the mantel is beautiful, it will not work on my refaced fireplace as the open back is visible. Shipping this back will be a hassle!
By Beatriz Sandoval
March 21, 2011
Beautiful, The Right Touch of Class!
The Shenandoah Mantel Shelf - No. 412 put the finishing touches to our fireplace. The craftsmanship is amazing and it gave our living room a completely different look. WE LOVE IT, thank you Pearle Mantels and Elite Deals.
By Jack B
March 3, 2011
Review for
Nice price delivered to your door. Real wood but not solid. Boxed construction.looks great.
By Nevaeh Dawkins
Kentucky
February 27, 2011
Log Home Enhancement
This mantel was a great purchase and has enhanced the look of our log home.
By Miley Prewitt
Oklahoma
January 23, 2011
Matches Everything
This mantel was quite easy to install and matches all of our bookcases perfectly. All around, we are quite pleased with this mantel.
By Diana Spurlock
Iowa
December 8, 2010
Great Workmanship
This item possesses excellent craftsmanship that I recommend to all of my friends.
By Jessica Boles
North Dakota
December 3, 2010
Exceed Expectations All Around
Aside from a bowed mounting board, I am quite happy to report that this product was everything for which I had hoped. It has greatly exceeded my expectations; in fact, it has been so good that it totally fooled my builder into thinking it was a custom designed product. From pricing to the installation process, this product has exceeded my expectations.
By Sarah Sorenson
Alabama
November 15, 2010
Great Combination
The photo didn’t do this mantel justice. Once our fireplace is finished being refaced with white Austin stone, it will look smashing with this new mantel.
By Anthony Villanueva
Tennessee
October 26, 2010
Great for TVs
I purchased this mantel to be used as a TV stand. It works great, looks great, and installation was easy. It’s very sturdy for holding a TV or knickknacks.
By Haylee Hilliard
Oklahoma
October 14, 2010
Hesitant About Staining
Despite the appearance of a repair to the front of the mantel giving it a distressed look, we hope we get good results by staining it a medium to dark stain. On the plus side, it’s easy to install.
By Patrick Mooney
Wyoming
August 30, 2010
Good Recommendation
I can recommend this mantel. It is very well made.
By Isabel Montoya
Ohio
July 17, 2010
Pleased with Packing
This mantel is just what we needed to make our fireplace look great. The company took great care packing and shipping as if we had ordered dishware instead of a wood mantel.
By Hailey Fleming
Idaho
May 29, 2010
Perfect Choice
What a perfect choice for my decor.
By Keith Thrasher
Alabama
March 6, 2010
Exceeded Expectations
This mantel has greatly exceeded all of my prior expectations.
By Brian Sams
Georgia
February 12, 2010
Looks Great and Easy Assembly
This was the perfect mantel for my needs with great looks and easy assembly and installation.
By Mckenzie Dietz
Texas
September 3, 2009
Pessimist Turned Optimist
I tend to be a pessimist in many ways, but in the case of these mantels offered by Pearl, I am a definite optimist. The design and quality that one is able to find in these shelves is simply astounding. In every single category, this mantel was precisely the item for which we were searching. Prior to purchasing this mantel, we had done a good deal of research to determine what we should buy, and even though we actually have not installed this item yet, we are totally confident that this will be the perfect addition to our home.
By Jennifer Prado
Missouri
April 5, 2009
Deceiving Photo
The photo was deceiving. Though it is an unfinished mantel, it will require more work than necessary to achieve the same rustic look as in the photo.
By Molly Douglass
Kansas
February 25, 2009
Very Classy Appearance
Even though this mantel is quite easy to install, the directions are a bit of a challenge to interpret. We put this on our outdoor stone fireplace and put a total of three coats of spar varnish on it to make it look incredible.

Page 1 of 1