4.7
44 Reviews
5
77% (34)
4
18% (8)
3
2% (1)
2
0% (0)
1
2% (1)
86% Recommend this product (38 of 44 responses)
By Grayson Erwin
South Carolina
July 13, 2014
Minor Flaw
I love this mantel. However, the “pearl” marking is set poorly. It appears as though there was a flaw in the design.
By Kiley Pratt
New Mexico
June 16, 2014
Great Out of the Box
I was thrilled with this product as soon as I opened the package. It looks great and gives me high hopes for the final appearance of my refinished fireplace.
By Ariana Menard
Tennessee
May 15, 2014
Poor Quality
I bought this mantel unfinished. And though it is a fine-looking mantel I would not recommend buying it unfinished. I was disappointed that you could not hide the glue spots. It was nearly impossible to get the stain to coat evenly and I had to fix the stain repeatedly.
By Israel Marsh
Wyoming
April 23, 2014
A Perfect Fit
This mantle is very attractive and fits our home perfectly. We are very happy with our purchase of this item.
By Aubree Kane
Arkansas
April 14, 2014
Pleased Customers
This mantel proved to be the perfect way to renovate our brick fireplace and rejuvenate the whole room! The cherry finish that we chose is a beautiful finish and the carving lends an air of sophistication. If you compare prices, you will know that you won’t find anything this great at this price. Even a do-it-yourselfer couldn’t beat it. But any handy person will be able to install the sturdy mounting brace and solid mantel with the easy instructions. The mantel is a considerable size with a wide shelf area to display items. It all came packaged well and in less than a week.
By Destiny Rock
Nevada
November 29, 2013
Would Purchase It Again
We are very pleased with our purchase of this mantel. We chose the unfinished piece so that we could apply a finish that matched the woodwork already in the room. The shelf is well built and sturdy, yet beautiful. We would definitely purchase another one if we needed it.
By Adriana Shaffer
Arizona
August 24, 2013
Expensive Looking
My fireplace is surrounded by a rather boring brick wall, so I was looking for something to update the look. This mantel fits my needs perfectly. Its appearance is worth more than its price tag.
By Kaylee Staples
Wisconsin
July 29, 2013
Would Buy Another
I already have plans to buy another one of these mantels when I build another house! I like it that much! Friends have admired the work I did staining and installing the unfinished mantel. The chestnut stain I chose was easy to apply to a uniform finish. I did have some problems with the parts that are glued together to make the corbels. The stain looks checkered to me, but most have liked that look. The instructions give a minimum height for the mantel and that is where we mounted ours. If I were to do it again, I would have placed it higher to give more room above the fireplace door. The mantel gets pretty hot after a bit and I think mounting it higher would have been a better idea. This is not an expensive mantel, but it is worth much more than the price I paid.
By Nathaniel Garnett
New Jersey
July 21, 2013
Unbeatable Price
I love my mantel. I would highly recommend it to anyone. The price is unbeatable. And the quality is great. It is a gorgeous piece.
By Gabriel Mansfield
Colorado
April 24, 2013
Beautifully Stained
This shelf is quite attractive. The shade of the stain sets it off beautifully.
By Amaya Riley
South Dakota
April 5, 2013
Thrilled with the Product
I am extremely pleased with both the ordering process and the product itself. It was delivered within three days and looked great. The price was quite reasonable, yet the shelf was very good quality. My only complaint is that the backer board did not seem very sturdy. Other than that, I am thrilled with this product.
By Jeremy Needham
North Dakota
March 25, 2013
Exceptional Craftmanship
Seeing this mantel hanging on the stone veneer of my fireplace makes me quite happy. The craftsmanship of the shelf is exceptional. Because of the stone's thickness, I had to purchase some additional hardware to make sure that the shelf was solidly supported, but that was only a minor issue. I would highly recommend this product for its quality and appearance.
By Wyatt George
Oregon
March 10, 2013
Worth Even Some Extra Work
My spouse and I both picked out this mantel separately of one another. The distressed cherry finish has a very nice look. Since there is some existing tile in the area where the shelf is installed, we had to insert a foundation board behind the shelf and will have to add some molding to finish the look. The finished appearance though is worth the extra work.
By Victor Julian
Iowa
February 14, 2013
Incredible Shape
This item is just what I was looking for and when I not only received it quickly but also got it in excellent condition. This was purchased to be a replacement for my previous mantel and it is definitely an upgrade.
By Jonathan Larue
Pennsylvania
December 5, 2012
Easy Installation
Not only was this mantel simple to install, it is a beautiful completion to my fireplace.
By Steven Weiner
Michigan
November 28, 2012
Nice Construction
We chose this mantel because the arch matched the front of our fireplace. It is very nicely constructed and installation was trouble-free.
By Timothy Schultz
Minnesota
October 3, 2012
High Quality Product
I could not be more pleased with the overall quality of this product. My decision to purchase it was based upon trying to match a mantel with our fireplace, and this definitely does just that.
By Leonardo Torrez
Kentucky
September 25, 2012
Third Time Is a Charm?
We received our shipment of this mantel after admiring the online pictures. Sadly, one of the corners was damaged and a replacement was ordered. The second one’s stain was not at all like the gorgeous stain of the first one and did not look like the one in the picture. I am trying one more time!
By Carlos Blanton
Idaho
August 13, 2012
Beautiful Shelf
Just like its pictures, this shelf has a great color and is very beautiful.
By Steven Read
Illinois
February 21, 2012
Not As Pictured
Although the Auburn Arched mantel does not look the way I thought it would from the pictures on the website, it really is well worth the price. It was easy to install the corbels and arch with the shelf. If you don’t want the look of the arch, you can just use the shelf with the corbels. Or the shelf can be installed without the corbels, the choice is yours. The corbels were the disappointment. They just were not as substantial or attractive as what was pictured. The overall finish on the mantel is very lovely. Pearl Mantels makes a fine piece that I would never be able to make at home for the same price. Overall, I still would highly recommend this piece as an enhancement to your fireplace.
By Gabriella Esparza
Nebraska
December 30, 2011
Speedy Shipping
Overall, this mantel is great. I noticed a few areas of glue residue that a little sanding took care of. The speedy ordering and shipping process was great since I was working with a tight deadline. I applied the finish to the shelf, and it should be installed later today. I will recommend your website to my contractor as a source for high quality, inexpensive mantels that can be obtained quickly.
By Lorrie
Columbus MT
December 29, 2011
Excellent Value
Our mantle arrived in less time than expected and was in perfect condition. We ordered it unfinished and stained it to match our new floor. The wood stained beautifully. We're very pleased with our purchase and definitely recommend this product.
Prosquick delivery, cost, craftsmanship, quality
By Amanda Kenny
North Carolina
December 8, 2011
Flawless
I am so pleased with this mantel. The delivery was exceptionally quick and the mantel was effortlessly put in place. It fits flawlessly with my home décor.
By Guadalupe Boone
Alabama
November 7, 2011
Disappointed with Outcome
Although the design of this mantle is eye-catching, we were not happy with the fact that the glue could not be covered. We were very displeased with how it turned out.
By Brennan Latham
Ohio
October 10, 2011
Installed Without Husband's Help
This mantel was so easy to install, I was able to do it on my own while my husband was busy. It has made our fireplace the object of admiration. We are so happy with how it enhances the entire space. Just make sure to use the proper tools when you mount the mantel.
By Payton Barry
Florida
September 5, 2011
Great Value for Price
I was interested in building my own mantel. But when I got a quote on the cost I started looking for another option. I did a good deal of research on this mantel and was excited that it was so cost effective. I purchased the Auburn mantle, and could not be happier. It is a great value. And it is really easy to install.
By Cody Huntley
Georgia
May 11, 2011
Great Service
Not only were we pleased with the price of this mantel, we were very happy with the speed of the delivery. It is a beautiful piece with a stunning finish.
By Genesis Early
Kansas
April 25, 2011
Very Easy
This mantel was incredibly easy to install. All I had to do was apply the primer, paint it, and hang it. This is a great product.
By Michael Busby
Maryland
March 27, 2011
Good Craftsmanship
We are so happy about this mantel. Its unique design and coloring makes the mantel stand out beautifully. It makes our fireplace looks complete with its appearance and expert craftsmanship.
By Clara Yates
Texas
January 23, 2011
Extremely Attractive
There are many reasons that owning a product such as this is a good investment. It is very study, quite attractive, easy to assemble, well designed, as well as possesses excellent instructions about assembly.
By Colton Mahan
New York
December 17, 2010
High Class Appearance
This mantel has a high quality appearance that looks expensive. However, the price is quite reasonable. You will not regret this purchase.
By Debbie
November 5, 2010
Review for
Received it quick and was very impressed.Very attractive and simple to put up. Worth buying.
By Marcos Plummer
Delaware
February 27, 2010
Perfect for Holidays
We finally have a mantel that will look perfect with the holiday decorations! The moment we saw it we knew we had to purchase it. Our home décor is greatly enhanced by the beautiful coloring and craftsmanship of this mantel. Not only did it arrive in a very timely manner, it was very easy to install.
By Simon Palma
Louisiana
December 30, 2009
Complete Kit
I have had a very satisfactory experience with this mantel. I purchased the 62-inch mantel with a cherry finish and it sets off my stone fireplace perfectly. The design is exceptionally beautiful. Everything was complete in the box – instructions, backer board, and screws – and arrived in just four days. Once in place it is quite secure. I can’t think of a thing to say to discourage anyone from purchasing this mantel. It is even easy to keep clean!
By Raegan Bonilla
Montana
October 22, 2009
Backer Board Not Sturdy
This mantel shelf goes nicely with the full brick wall that surrounds my fireplace. The color is exactly what I expected from the description and pictures. The included backer board seemed rather flimsy, so I replaced it with my own. Otherwise, I am very happy with both the appearance and quality of this product.
By Colin Smallwood
California
August 23, 2009
Highly Recommended Mantel
I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of this mantel for an online purchase at this price. The look of the shelf is very rich and adds a certain warmth to the room. My husband is a carpenter and actually built our home, yet even he was pleased with the craftmanship of this product. I would highly recommend this mantle shelf to anyone.
By Skylar Bradley
Utah
August 14, 2009
Guaranteed Satisfaction
The pictures of this mantle do not do it justice. I guarantee that you will be pleased with this product.
By Amy Wright
Mississippi
May 31, 2009
Sturdy and Beautiful
I can’t think of anything bad to say about this mantel shelf. It is constructed well, has an eye-catching design and I was able to put it up according to the simple instructions.
By Daniel Dougherty
Washington
March 29, 2009
The Finishing Touch
After dressing up our gas fireplace with slate, we really wanted an attractive mantel to finish it off. We are very pleased with the appearance and quality of this product. We had no difficulties installing it on the slate, and it provides just the right touch to complete our fireplace.
By John Crowell
Missouri
March 12, 2009
Excellent Value
I absolutely love this mantel! I knew that I had received a terrific product when a custom mantel artisan informed me that he could not make this product at the price for which I paid. Everyone is impressed with this item!
By Xander Sheehan
Virginia
February 27, 2009
Enhances Room
This mantel is adding so much to our fireplace. The color and style are beautiful.
By Valerie
January 29, 2009
Soooo Beautiful !!
Did my homework before purchasing this mantel. Elite Deals had the best deal & fast turnaround. The reviews of this mantel on other sites was great. Spoke with the owner of Pearl Mantels, Elizabeth, and she explained indepth the process of construction & the 17 step finishing process. She explained that this mantel should be considered a "piece of furniture" because of it's size, quality and finish. Well, she convinced me to purchase it already stained with the distressed cherry finish. When it arrived, we were hesitant to open the box and pull it out. Our expectations were so high. Well, when we pulled it out our jaws dropped !! It was sooo gorgeous. It was better than we anticipated or hoped for. It is very heavy, very high quality construction, beautiful medium to dark cherry tones with a slight distressed look. We are very pleased with the overall purchase experience. I very highly recommend this product. If you have any doubts, call Elizabeth at Pearl Mantels and I'm sure she will convince you how you are going to soooo LOVE THIS!!!
By Valerie
January 29, 2009
Soooo Beautiful !!
Did my homework before purchasing this mantel. Elite Deals had the best deal & fast turnaround. The reviews of this mantel on other sites was great. Spoke with the owner of Pearl Mantels, Elizabeth, and she explained indepth the process of construction & the 17 step finishing process. She explained that this mantel should be considered a \"piece of furniture\" because of it's size, quality and finish. Well, she convinced me to purchase it already stained with the distressed cherry finish. When it arrived, we were hesitant to open the box and pull it out. Our expectations were so high. Well, when we pulled it out our jaws dropped !! It was sooo gorgeous. It was better than we anticipated or hoped for. It is very heavy, very high quality construction, beautiful medium to dark cherry tones with a slight distressed look. We are very pleased with the overall purchase experience. I very highly recommend this product. If you have any doubts, call Elizabeth at Pearl Mantels and I'm sure she will convince you how you are going to soooo LOVE THIS!!!
By Sierra Colvin
Indiana
January 27, 2009
Poorly Constructed
I have received two of these now, and neither one has been a good quality mantel. The pictures looked like what we wanted and even when we took it out of the box it looked good. The first one was filled with wood putty where there was damage. It was unfinished wood and I didn’t think the stain would be consistent. After sending pictures to the company we were able to return it. The second one looked fine when it arrived, but when we tried to install it, the mantel sloped quite a bit from front to back. In order to have the mantel be level the top edge would have to come out an inch. It was really of poor construction. We really wanted this for a new home construction and wanted everything to be just right. Unfortunately this was not what I had hoped for.

Page 1 of 1